Forums > Sports Talks > Babar falls short of ton as Pakistan cross 200
  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1

Age: 30 Male
1823 days old here
Total Posts: 6357
Points : 2067

Quetta, Pakistan

Status : Offline
Subject : Babar falls short of ton as Pakistan cross 200
Pakistan batsman Babar Azam joined the record books as he reached 1000 ODI runs in the third ODI against Australia at W.A.C.A. on Thursday. The young batsman achieved the feat in 21 innings, leveling the record with Sir Viv Richards, Kevin Pietersen, Jonathan Trott and Quinton de Kock. However, he fell for 84 after guiding Pakistan past 200. The Green Shirts were five down for 222 after 42 overs. Shoaib Malik departed after an aggressive knock of 39. Opener Sharjeel Khan scored a daring half-century before departing in the third ODI against Australia. Mohammad Hafeez, captaining the tourists in place of injured Azhar Ali, fell for 4 off a Hazlewood delivery. Asad Shafiq went for 5, leaving Pakistan three down for 99. Australia captain Steven Smith won the toss and put Pakistan in to bat Thursday with the five one-day international series tied at one all.

Australia chose to rest star paceman Mitchell Starc. He was replaced by rookie quick Billy Stanlake, who bowled just three overs in his international debut in Brisbane in the series opener last Friday before being forced from the field by illness. Batsman Peter Handscomb was making his ODI debut and replaces the injured Chris Lynn, whose neck problem has ruled him out for the rest of the series. Pakistan were buoyed by their drought-breaking six-wicket win in game two at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Sunday. It was their first win in Australia in any format for more than a decade and they made no changes to their team.


Australia: David Warner, Travis Head, Steve Smith (capt), Usman Khawaja, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, James Faulkner, Pat Cummins, Billy Stanlake, Josh Hazlewood

Pakistan: Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Hafeez (capt), Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Rizwan, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan

Umpires - Simon Fry (AUS) and Chettithody Shamshuddin (IND)

Third Umpire - Chris Gaffaney (NZL)

Match referee - Jeff Crowe (NZL)

no likes.

Posted on January, 19 2017 12:08:31 PM

  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1